Upgrade WordPress–Don’t let strangers root through your trash

Version 2.9 of WordPress introduced the Trash, a wonderful little feature that most of us became acquainted with when Windows 95 launched. When you delete a post, page, or comment, it goes to the trash where you can review or restore it if you so desire. Apparently there was a vulnerability in it, though, where logged in users could see get in and see anything that was in the trash, even if they wouldn’t have been able to see it previously.

Version 2.9.2 was just released to fix this exploit, so be sure to grab it and update.

One thought on “Upgrade WordPress–Don’t let strangers root through your trash

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s